Frank Marks

Frank Marks

Research Highlights

Research Interests

Analyzing meteorological remote sensing (e.g., microwave radar and radiometer) and numerical model data sets, particularly in tropical cyclones and mesoscale convective systems to understand the storm kinematic and precipitation structure.

Frank Marks, Sc. D.

Director, Hurricane Research Division


4301 Rickenbacker Causeway
Miami, Florida 33149

Dr. Marks is a recognized expert in tropical cyclones and is the leader of the NOAA tropical cyclone research efforts as the research lead of NOAA’s Hurricane Forecast Improvement Project (HFIP) and the director of the Hurricane Research Division of NOAA’s Atlantic Oceanographic and Meteorology Laboratory. Dr. Marks also serves as co-chair of the Interagency Council for Advancing Meteorological Services (ICAMS) Committee on Observational Systems (CObS) Working Group for Aerial Reconnaissance Equipment (WG/ARE).

Besides his role within NOAA Dr. Marks is also an Adjunct Professor in the Department of Meteorology and Physical Oceanography at the University of Miami, as well as a Fellow of the Cooperative Institute for Marine and Atmospheric Studies (CIMAS) at the University of Miami Rosenstiel School for Marine and Atmospheric Sciences. Dr. Marks received a B.S. in Meteorology from Belknap College (1973) and both an M.S. (1975) and Sc.D. (1981) in Meteorology from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology.

Dr. Marks is a member of the American Meteorological Society (AMS) and became a Fellow of the AMS in 2000. He served as a member of the AMS Committee on Radar Meteorology and of the AMS Council.

Current Work

Director, Hurricane Research Division

Download Full CV

1973, B.S. Meteorology, Belknap College, Center Harbor, NH

1975, M.S. Meteorology, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Cambridge, MA

1981, Sc.D. Meteorology, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Cambridge, MA

  1. Chen, X., G.H. Bryan, A. Hazelton, F.D. Marks, and P. Fitzpatrick. Evaluation and improvement of TKE-based eddy-diffusivity mass-flux (EDMF) planetary boundary layer scheme in hurricane conditions. Weather and Forecasting, 37(6):935-951, 2022
    Ref. 4094
  2. Hazelton, A., K. Gao, M. Bender, L. Cowan, G.J. Alaka Jr., A. Kaltenbaugh, L. Gramer, X. Zhang, L. Harris, T. Marchok, M. Morin, A. Mehra, Z. Zhang, B. Liu, and F. Marks. Performance of 2020 real-time Atlantic hurricane forecasts from high-resolution global-nested hurricane models: HAFS-globalnest and GFDL T-SHiELD. Weather and Forecasting, 37(1):143-161, 2022
    Ref. 4041
  3. Zawislak, J., R.F. Rogers, S.D. Aberson, G.J. Alaka, G. Alvey, A. Aksoy, L. Bucci, J. Cione, N. Dorst, J. Dunion, M. Fischer, J. Gamache, S. Gopalakrishnan, A. Hazelton, H.M. Holbach, J. Kaplan, H. Leighton, F. Marks, S.T. Murillo, P. Reasor, K. Ryan, K. Sellwood, J.A. Sippel, and J.A. Zhang. Accomplishments of NOAA’S airborne hurricane field program and a broader future approach to forecast improvement. Bulletin of the American Meteorological Society, 103(2):E311-E338, 2022
    Ref. 3984

2018 NOAA/OAR Dr. Daniel L. Albritton Outstanding Science Communicator Award


2015 US Department of Commerce Gold Medal

For developing and implementing the high-resolution HWRF model.


2014 American Meteorological Society Banner I. Miller Award


2012 NOAA Administrator’s Award

For outstanding management of the G-IV Tail Doppler Radar project.


2012 NOAA/OAR Research Employee of the Year


2011 American Meteorological Society Verner E. Suomi Medal


2011 NOAA/OAR Outstanding Scientific Paper Award for Weather and Water


2010 NOAA Distinguished Career Award


2008 NOAA/OAR Research Employee of the Year


2005 NOAA/OFCM Richard H. Hagemeyer Award


2005 NOAA Administrator’s Award

For establishing and administrating the Joint Hurricane Testbed 2005. 


2005 NOAA/USWRP Joint Hurricane Testbed Outstanding Contributor Award


2003 NOAA Diversity Council Spectrum Achievement Award for Managers


1998 SUS Department of Commerce Silver Medal

For performance as the Research Mission Manager for the NOAA High Altitude Jet procurement.


1989 Distinguished Authorship Award, NOAA/ERL