Team members

All scientists working with XBTs are welcome to become members of the XBT Science Team. The current members are:

  • Janet Sprintall (USA, SIO, co-chair for science)
  • Ann Thresher (Australia, CSIRO, co-chair for data management)
  • Gustavo Goni (USA, NOAA, co-chair for operations)
  • Dean Roemmich (USA, SIO)
  • Lisa Lehmann (USA, SIO)
  • Molly Baringer (USA, NOAA)
  • Marlos Goes (USA, NOAA/CIMAS)
  • Gilles Reverdin (France, CNRS)
  • Gopalakrishna Visa (India, NIO)
  • Mauricio Mata (Brazil, FURG)
  • Sebastiaan Swart (South Africa, CSIR/UCT)
  • Rebecca Cowley (Australia, CSIRO)
  • Shoichi Kizu (Japan, TU)
  • Robert Helberg (USA, US Navy)
  • Sophie Cravatte (Noumea, IRD)
  • Alexander Ganachaud (Noumea, IRD)
  • Tim Boyer (USA, NOAA)
  • Charles Sun (USA, NOAA)
  • Loic Petit de la Villeon (France, IFREMER)
  • Franco Reseghetti (ENEA, ITA)

Institution Abbreviations

NOAANational Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration, USA
BOMBureau of Meteorology, Australia
ScrippsScripps Institution of Oceanography, USA
UCTUniversity of Cape Town, South Africa
CSIROCommonwealth Scientific and Industrial Research Organisation, Australia
NIONational Institute of Oceanography, India
CIMASCooperative Institute for Marine and Atmospheric Studies, USA
IRDInstitute of Research for Development, France
IMOSIntegrated Marine Observing System, Australia
IAPInstitute of Atmospheric Physics, China
NRLNaval Research Laboratory, USA
TUTohoku University, Japan
ENEANational Agency for New Technologies, Energy and Sustainable Economic Development, Italy
IFREMERInstitut Français de Recherche pour l'Exploitation de la Mer, France
CNRSCentre National de la Recherche Scientifique, France
CSIRCouncil for Scientific and Industrial Research, South Africa